First Date

A bagel. That’s all I came into this run down shop for. I didn’t come in to find any truths about myself. I didn’t come to find a spark to ignite the rest of my life. I didn’t even come in here for a drink. All I wanted was a bagel.

Yet when I locked eyes with her, suddenly it all didn’t matter. Suddenly, I wanted that coffee.

My heart skipped a beat as I turned and ordered a large coffee with a bit of sugar and creamer. Odd, really, as I never liked the coffee at this particular location. Felt like a dying impression of coffee that’s doing what it must to keep itself the working title. Really bland and just a struggle to get down.

I couldn’t honestly rationalize what I was doing. All I knew is that if I could stay in the shop for an extra minute, I would take it. I was considering calling in sick but I knew that wouldn’t work. Plus she likely wouldn’t stay in the coffee shop all day and I’d look like a fool. Well, more than I already feel since I just ordered a cup of mediocrity with a little bit of sugar to help it ooze down my throat.

She probably didn’t even mean to look in my direction. I mean the city, in it’s own strange way, can draw an eye at any moment. Maybe I was just lucky enough to be in the crossfire of her vision.

It could be a happy chance, but I couldn’t squander it. When she took a seat which directly faced my table, I knew it had a purpose. I mean, the place was decently busy but there were a few other tables. The closest one to me is the one she chose. Odd, really.

As my coffee got to my table, I grew quite brave. Maybe this was the cup that could change everything. I looked gently in her direction as I had a sip. Her eyes alone made the… alright I can’t lie. Even with her gaze, the coffee was like ground ants that were melted by the molten sun. Unable to hold it back, I gagged a bit and swallowed it down. Absolutely repulsive! Yet it earned a coy smile. Maybe she was into watching others in pain.

“I guess I’m still not used to the taste of this stuff, ” I moaned in an exasperated manner.

“Really? I heard this was the best cup in at least 5 blocks.” Her sneer pierced my defenses quicker than I thought was possible.

“Are we talking city blocks or blocks of molded cheese?” This got her to laugh. I don’t know why, it was a rather stupid attempt at humor. Yet she laughed. My heart beat in unison with her chortles and I moved over to her table.

“I’m glad I only got the bagel. Those can’t be too bad.”

“You’re clearly not from around here if you were recommended this place for coffee. I wouldn’t mind showing you around when I’m off,” I boldly proclaimed. It really did make me quite confident that I was able to progress to this point with the girl who launched one coffee cup. Even if she brushed me off now I would feel like I gained a huge vote of confidence today.

“How could I turn down a tour? When can I expect you?”

This had to be some sort of prank show. I expect my coworkers to come laughing at me for even entertaining the idea of going on a date with this beautiful woman. Her humor up to this point seems to point to that, but I decide to face the embarrassing conclusion head on. At this point owning it was the only way to save face.

“Let’s meet up here at 6.”

“Don’t be late!”

With that, she stood with her bagel and took off. After dumping my coffee, I was off down the block. My mind raced with the possibilities.

After what seemed like forever, I was finally on my way back to the site of our first interaction. I hadn’t even gotten her name and yet she was all I could think about all day. The way her eyes danced around with mine in a subtle chase. The way she was able to be so forward. I had to know her. I wasn’t foolish enough to think this anything close to love, but I was beyond curious to see what kind of person had captured my admiration.

There she stood, in a nice blouse and jeans, waiting for me. It would appear she was there quite a bit earlier than myself by the way her things were laid out on the small table outside.

“Punctual. This city likes punctual,” I said through a toothy grin.

She cheerfully hopped on her feet when I arrived and chirped, “Well you can never be too early!”

“You’ll come to drop that mentality after about a month in this place. I’ll show you to the best steak house in town. You’ll be drooling for days.”

“That sounds gross, yet at the same time, I’d be too hungry to care.”

“Now you’re getting it.”

As we were seated, I noticed that she hardly looked away from me. Her eyes were focused on my movements as if trying to study them for a test. I felt like the star of a show that only she was able to see. Truly unique in the way this girls attention was so grand.

“So are we going to play Rumpelstiltskin or tell each other our names?” She said, with a hint of playful  challenge in her tone.

I raised my eyebrow and whispered, “Perhaps I can spin some string into gold for your necklace?”

“I’ll call you Rump then, unless you want to tell me your actual name.”

“A hard bargain, you drive. Fine. I’m Theodore, but please call me Teddy.”

“Oh, like a teddy bear?”

“My gosh, really? I’ve never heard that one before. Oh wait, silly me, I’ve heard it literally since I was born. What shall I call you, oh clever one?” I leaned in, curious.

“Sadie.” She said, flaunting her name into the air.

“Short for Sadicious?”

“Short for nothing.”

“Wow, so should I call you Sadie or your full name, Nothing?”

“Making dad jokes isn’t a good way to start a date, you know.”

“And what is a good way to start a date, exactly?”

She looked a bit surprised, like I had just knocked her back a step. Her smirk turned into a very wide smile.

“How about we play a game?”

“Sure, I’d love to show you my prowess.”

“Let’s play two truths and a lie.” Judging by the look on her face, she seems to think herself a seasoned liar and an expert lie detector. I suppose we’ll find out soon enough.

“Alright. Go ahead.”

“I once had a chance to meet a president but declined. At some point in my life I was going to be a professional scuba diver. I’m considering making out with you right now.”

“Well, I have to say I hope one of those is true. But if I say one of the other ones you’ll think I’m too cocky and it’ll be a self fulfilling prophecy since then it will become false I would assume. I’ll stick with the safe choice and say you only want to modestly kiss me instead of make out.”

She leaned in with her eyebrow raised just enough for me to see. “I’ve hated the water since I was a little girl.” Well, she’s rather forward. Just how I like it: no games but all fun. I suppose I have to keep going until the food comes. Hopefully they serve breath mints.

“My, that’s quite a bit of information you’ve given me, Ms. Sadie.”

“I mean, Obama wasn’t exactly president yet when he dated my cousin. Too bad I decided to stay home that night or I would have a real story.”

“Too cute. Alright you’ve impressed me with your ability to deceive me so directly. Now let’s see how you do with detection. I’ve never broken a bone in my body. I once was able to impress an NFL player with my throw. I would absolutely love to make out with you, as well.”

She became flustered, but it seemed she really enjoyed the direction I was going. At this point there wasn’t a hell of a lot I could do to make the night go bad, and that was such a refreshing feeling. I wasn’t worrying about impressing a girl – I was just enjoying a night with her.

“Alright. Alright. You took my tactic so that’s already got to be off the table. No way you’re getting me to fall for that trick,” she said while tilting her head to the side, “So let’s see where you’re trying to lie to me. You look like the type that’s active enough that I can see you both breaking a bone and impressing an NFL player. But there’s no way you’d impress someone while not being offered a job there! I call bullshit on the NFL player story.”

I leaned back and placed my hands behind my head.

“I’ll have you know that Randall Cobb was very impressed with the speed of my release. You didn’t think having a good release would get me into the NFL did you? The lie, of course was…”

It was cute the way she squirmed with anticipation. As if the chance of me telling her out right I didn’t want to make out with her was absolutely devastating her. I had enough torture.

“…the bones. I’ve broken both of my arms when I was a kid.” She gave me a huffy look but clearly was holding back her smile.

“Well, I guess I can’t wait until after our meal then.”

“Seems like we have the same plans tonight.”

Our food came and I learned about her hatred for water. I think it has to do with her nearly drowning when she was a toddler, but she seems to think it’s because she swallowed a mouthful of ocean water when she was a bit older. We then discussed my future in the NFL despite having no professional training in the game. A couch quarterback is all that’s in my future.

When we left, I told her hand. The softness of her hand was contrasted by the firmness of her grip. Clearly she was looking to get where we were going. I took her back to my bachelor’s pad to watch some movies, as we put it. Thank goodness I keep my living space presentable most of the time or I would have crashed and burned.

We got back and as soon as the door was shut, she pounced me. Took my fully by surprise, I thought I’d have to at least feign putting something on. She was very vigorous with her motions. Not wanting to be outdone, I took back control and wrapped an arm around her. Definitely up her alley.

As I moved her to the couch, so went to lay down, but then moved so she was sitting. She opened an eye and whispered, “Not on the first date, cowboy. Stick around and we’ll see how things go.” She was clearly playing for keeps. Not that I was complaining.

After we finally tired out, we did end up putting on a movie. I forget what exactly it was because I was so in tune with the energy Sadie was giving off. She leaned on me and I felt her warmth melding with me. Truly this had to be a dream.

We woke up in the morning in each others embrace, still fully clothed. I was spooning her from behind while she faced the back of the couch. Looks like I was willing to fall for her twice. She slowly opened her eyes and yawned right in my ear.

“I guess this is one way of saying we slept together on the first date.”

There’s no way I’m going to let her go. Who knows, maybe I’ll even become a coffee person.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

